Thanks to Charlestown's volunteers

Thanks to Charlestown's volunteers Main Image

24 May 2023

WHETHER they are keeping us safe in the water, improving our community spaces or working with young people to develop their skills, Charlestown’s volunteers are making a vital contribution to our community.

After a very busy National Volunteer Week, Member for Charlestown Jodie Harrison MP paid tribute to all of those who gave up their time for others.

“They do this freely and without fanfare, but our society simply wouldn’t function effectively without them,” Ms Harrison said.

More than 75 percent of NSW’s population are volunteers, contributing hours of effort worth $127 billion to the state’s economy. 

Ms Harrison urged the community to recognise their unsung heroes with a 2023 Volunteer of the Year nomination.

Ms Harrison said the awards were an opportunity to shine a spotlight on those who generously give their time without fanfare.

“Honouring the contributions of volunteering ensures unpaid work is valued and respected,” Ms Harrison said.

“I pay tribute to all the amazing people across Charlestown who volunteer in aged care, emergency services, animal welfare, environmental management, health, sport, education, tourism and all other areas.”

The NSW State of Volunteering Report calculated that there are more than 4.9 million volunteers across the state, contributing an estimated 1.5 billion hours of effort.

Volunteers in NSW are recognised via the NSW Volunteer of the Year Awards and the NSW Volunteer Recognition Program.

“I cannot thank our volunteers enough for all they do and I encourage everyone to take the time to acknowledge their contributions and for making a NSW a great place to live,” Ms Harrison said.

For more information on how to nominate a person making a difference in the Charlestown community, visit

IMAGE: Redhead’s Surf Life Saving Club held its annual presentation night on Saturday 20 May, recognising the work of its club members and volunteers. Jodie Harrison MP is pictured with youth championship representatives Will Griffiths, Sid Burns, Rocco Ayre, Alannah Dimmock and Evie Waller.